Butterfly Ginger and Shed Doors

Butterfly Ginger

Good Sunday afternoon!  Hope the weekend’s been good to you.  Mine’s been pretty darn sweet:  Enjoyed a Girls Nite In get-together with some girlfriends Friday night, hung out with the Boyfriend Saturday night, and in between all that I actually found time to work on a couple of projects.  Got a tad bit of rain yesterday and none so far today.  It’s raining all around me, but for some reason those clouds just seem to skirt around Lake Helen.  Gonna have to run the sprinkers tonight if I don’t get some soon.

The shed doors with their original, ugly-as-sin-on-Sunday Barn Red paint...

 Anyway.  Had hoped to show you my pretty, newly painted shed doors, but that ain’t happening.  Got them cleaned and all the old peeling paint scraped off, then put two coats of primer on them yesterday.  Thought I had exterior white paint on hand, but I was wrong.  So had to make a trip to Lowe’s (pretty much my favorite store ever!) and, as usual, spent waaaaayyy more time than needed wandering around the store thinking of all the projects I could do if I could just buy this, and that, and a few of those, and oh wouldn’t that be gorgeous in the garden room…  Do you do that too?

Primered Door

 
 
 
 
 
This weekend coming up is a four-day weekend for me, so my plan is to finish them then, and show you pics of the whole shed-painting project. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
In the meantime, how about some Butterfly Ginger eye-candy. 
 

Pretty Bee...

Can you find the frog?

Butterfly Ginger and Frog...

 Is that not one of the coolest flower buds??

Flower Bud

 Not only are the flowers pretty, but I like the plant itself too.

 

 

These pics are of the garden I had when I lived in Savannah.  Hope whomever owns it now enjoys it as much as I did.

  •  Botanical Name:  Hedychium coronarium
  • Common Name:  Common Ginger Lily, White Ginger, Butterfly Ginger
  • Cultivar:  Not sure on this one
  • I’ve found they do best in light shade
  • Ample to moderate water
  • Depending on the cultivar, 3′ to 9′ tall
  • Perennial
  • Attracts butterflies
  • Fragrant
  • Blooms from summer till frost
 Well, that’s it for today.  Have an awesome rest of the day!
 
Jeanni
4 responses to “Butterfly Ginger and Shed Doors

  • Ricki Treleaven

    Yes, that definitely is one of the coolest flower buds! Thanks for sharing these great photos. I am visiting from Cottage Flora Thursday.

  • Jeanni

    Ricki, thank you so much for your comment! Other than one of my very favorite family members, you’re my first offical comment on my new blog. Thank you so much!

  • Fishtail Cottage

    Thank you so much for linking up to Cottage Flora Thursday’s at Fishtail Cottage! So hard to leave a garden you put your love and attention into. Those photo’s of your ginger are so pretty! thanks for sharing the great info. too! xoxo, tracie

    • Jeanni

      Thanks, Tracie. Yeah, it is hard to start over with a new garden…I adore my new home and am hoping never to move again for that reason. Fishtail Cottage is a gorgeous blog. Looking forward to the next Cottage Flora Thursday!

Leave a Reply

