Call the Popo cause a crime’s been committed!!

Well it seems some shenanigans of the worst kind took place in my very own home today.  About 10:00 I mosey one block down the road to watch Lake Helen’s 4th of July parade.  About 10:30 I mosey back that one block to my house.  Upon walking into the fireplace room I notice that something’s very amiss…  Hmmmmm.  What is wrong with this picture??  Well, for starters normally I don’t have a half-eaten loaf of bread just laying around the house! 

Where the crime took place

I wonder who may have put it there?  I’m thinking this boy, who goes by the name of Gibbs, looks pretty guilty.  What do you think?

The suspect

After investigating a bit more, I find actual CRUMBS on the rug of the aforementioned suspect.  It’s starting to look pretty bad for him about now…

The very convincing evidence

 About this time the suspect decides he better start sucking up to a not-very-happy momma cause he’s starting to feel like he’s in some pretty deep doo-doo.  He’s beginning to get the idea that maybe getting that loaf of bread that mom just brought home from the store YESTERDAY off of the countertop and eating half of it wasn’t such a good idea after all!

Half eaten loaf

So he proceeds to put on his I’m-so-sorry face and rubs against me and gives me little nose kisses.  But of course I can’t let him off that easy.  Oh no.  He’s got to learn his lesson that that behavior is just not accepted in this house.  And this is the face he gives me as I’m trying my darndest to yell at him…

Pitiful, pitiful, pitiful

Really?? Could you yell or be mad at that face?? I tell you what, it took everything I had not to laugh at him.  Had to just walk away.  Of course he followed me.  And of course I couldn’t even remotely stay mad very long.  Besides…it was just a loaf of bread.

Moral of the story:  Don’t leave bread on the countertop if you don’t want your dog to eat it.  Simple as that.

6 responses to “Call the Popo cause a crime’s been committed!!

  • Cheryl F Sparks

    Oh my gosh, this made me laugh out loud…. I have three (yes, I probably need my head examined) adorable labs…. I blame Emma-dog, who is going to be 6 in August. She is truly the most well-behaved dog we have ever had…. and then came Lola and Gus. Sister and Brother. Black and yellow labs… cuter than you can imagine… but Trouble, with a capital T. Lola, will sneak food, and then look innocent. Gus… well, Gus was named for the little mouse in Cinderella, and is just like his name. He is a lovable goof. He just wants you to love him.
    I truly don’t know what I would do without them, or what they would do without each other…

    • Jeanni

      I’m so glad it made you laugh! Everytime I think about his pitiful face it just cracks me up too. I wish I could get another dog so he’d have company when I’m not here. But I have a regular-cab pickup truck and take him with me everywhere I can. I don’t believe in dogs riding in the bed of trucks, so he rides up front with me. Seventy pounds of dog pretty much takes up the passenger seat. That doesn’t leave much room for another dog. So until I decide to get another vehicle, I reckon he’s gonna be an only child. Tell your pups Gibbs says “Hi” and give ’em kisses for me!

  • Wondering Soul

    I think Gibby needs a lawyer. He clearly stated with those big sad eyes that he has been FRAMED! He does not want to go to the hoosegow, the clink, the big house. He’s innocent I say, innocent!

    Seriously…he is so cute I just can’t stand it. 🙂

    • Jeanni

      haha! Yeah, he tried to use that “I’ve been framed” line. But considering the fact that when I walked into the room he was lying on the rug, next to the torn bag, with half a slice hanging out of his mouth, I kinda didn’t believe him. I just wasn’t quick enough with the camera to get a pic of that! But next time you come over I’m sure he’ll give you HIS side of the story! lol

  • Sara

    Thanks for leaving a comment! It made my day!!! I too have seen this puppy face! Mine takes a similar position when he has done something tragic. He tattles on himself most of the time. The guilt is just too much for the poor guy. I hope you have a great day! Thanks again,

    Sara

Leave a Reply

