Unknown Daylily

Hi all!  And how was everyone’s weekend?  Mine was absolutely fabulous.  Had a long four-day weekend that I put to good use by working in the garden like crazy, hung out with part of the gang on Sunday, and had another part of the gang over on Monday for dinner, drinks, and fireworks watching.  Was tough hearing that alarm ringing by my head this morning…

While I was working like crazy in the garden I noticed one of my Black-Eyed Stella daylilies had buds that looked darker than normal.  I passed it off to the weird weather we’ve been having.  Well, the next day two of the buds had opened and I saw that, no, the dark buds were not due to weird weather.  They were due to the fact that instead of looking like this when they opened:

Black-Eyed Stella Daylily

they looked like this:

Unknown Daylily
Is that beautiful or what???  Definitely not complaining that it’s not Black-Eyed but it was just very unexpected.  So my mission now is to figure out who she is.  Thankfully I remember the nursery I bought that group of bulbs from so I’ll just peruse their catalog to find the match.  Or if any of you out there know, fill me in on the secret!  She’s in a border of Black-Eyeds, so she’ll look a bit out of place once they all start reblooming.  How cool is it though that the colors are the same, just reversed.  Very neat.  But I think I’ll leave her there till cooler weather rolls around.  That’ll give me plenty of time to figure out where to plant her.
 
I took a ton of pics of her and they all turned out so well I had a really hard time narrowing down which ones to post.  Obviously I didn’t do a very good job cause there are lots of pics for you to look at.
 
Click here to get more info on her.
 
Unknown Daylily 3
 

Unknown Daylily 4
 
Unknown Daylily 5
 
Unknown Daylily 6
Unknown Daylily 7
 
 Oh good Lord.  I have GOT to get a newer, faster computer if I’m gonna keep uploading this many pics.  This is taking forever…
 
 
Unknown Daylily 13
Unknown Daylily 16

I ended up deleting alot of the pics cause they were just way too much alike.  I still really do need to get a faster computer though.  Actually I’m jonesing for a laptop so I can sit outside while working on this.  That would be great.

Hey, I’m trying to figure out the best way to link my posts to my plant descriptions pages.  So there’s prob gonna be a few changes here and there while I figure that out.  Let me know if you’re having problems finding anything.

I’m linking up this week with:

Good Life Wednesdays at A Beach Cottage – Life by the Sea

and Cottage Flora Thursday #26 at Fishtail Cottage

and Fertilizer Friday / Flaunt Your Flowers at Tootsie Time

Y’all need to check out Good Life Wednesdays, Cottage Flora Thursdays, and Fertilizer Friday …they’ve got links to a ton of really cool blogs.  I’m so digging them every week.  Thanks to Sarah, Tracie, and Glenda for hosting them!

Well, that’s all for now.  Cheers to an awesome rest of the day!

Jeanni

17 responses to “Unknown Daylily

  • Bella's Rose Cottage

    Hi Jeanni,
    Lovely Lily and poolside (lucky you!!!).
    Hugs,
    Bella

    • Jeanni

      Thank you, Ms Bella! I love, love, love your name, btw. Back when I was looking for another dog to adopt I’d decided if I got a girl she’d be named Bella. But I got my sweetheart Gibbs instead. He probably appreciates me not naming him “Bella.” ha.
      Jeanni

  • Fishtail Cottage

    Very pretty Daylilly! i’m glad you took the time to upload all the photo’s even if it took some time, they are all so pretty! Thanks so much for sharing over here at Cottage Flora Thursday’s! Also, for sharing the garden party with your friends…love seeing this party grow! xoxo, tracie

    • Jeanni

      Hey, Tracie. You know what’s funny is after all that time of uploading and writing and finally publishing this post, I went to the blog to see what it looked like and it wasn’t there!! Man, did I ever panic. After cussing a bit I took a deep breath and tried to figure out what when wrong. Well, I’d created it as a page instead of a post. So it was there…just not where it was supposed to be. Easy fix though…thank goodness for cut and paste. ha. Ahhhh, the joy of being a newbie blogger. And you’re very welcome on the sharing…I luv me a good garden party.
      Jeanni

  • Mrs Jones

    Beautiful “unknown” daylily. I’m a big fan of daylilies.

    • Jeanni

      I’m a daylily fan too. They’re just such a low maintenance plant, and the colors they come in are to die for! It’s dangerous for me to look at a daylily nursery website cause I want to order 10 of all of them.
      Jeanni

  • Darla

    With color like this it needs no name!

  • Larry

    What an exciting time of the year with the hemerocallis starting into bloom… yours are lovely! This year is particularly exciting for me as I hybridized 3-4 hundred daylilies and they are now in bud for the first time… hoping I don’t end up with a whole lot of tapioca colored blossoms!
    Enjoyed visiting your post… Larry

    • Jeanni

      Wow…can’t even imagine that many daylilies blooming…must be an amazing sight. Good luck with your hybridizing, Larry! Thanks for the compliments, too.
      Jeanni

  • glimpsesofglory/karen

    Hi Jeanni,
    Sorry I’m late to the party! lol
    Your Daylily is a beauty, sorry I can’t name it.
    I am a new blogger also, stumbling about trying to figure things out.
    Your blog looks great,

    glimpsesofglory-karen.blogspot.com/

    • Jeanni

      Hi to you too, Karen. Hey, my belief is better late than never! After looking through Wilde’s website, I’ve got the daylily narrowed down to two choices of what it could be. Both are alot alike so I’m gonna email the nursery and ask them which one it is. I’ll let y’all know once it gets confirmed. Have a great one!
      Jeanni

  • abeachcottage

    Beautiful pics and love the daylily. It looks like the colours are the other way round when compared to the Black-Eyed Stella, the yellow is in the inset of the flower whilst the dark red/maroon is on the outside 🙂 Looks lovely though. Thanks for stopping by Beach Cottage Good Life Wednesdays and sharing.

  • ~~Rhonda

    Oh, I know the feeling of having an UNK daylily! That one looks like ‘Autumn Red’ to me. For years, it was unknown in our garden, too. We called it ‘Lena’ because that was the garden name given to it by the woman who passed it on to us. She named it after the gardener who had given it to her! 🙂 I hope you get the right name. I’ll be interested to hear what the nursery has to say! Google “autumn red” and see what you think. ~~Rhonda

    • Jeanni

      Hi, Rhonda. ‘Autumn Red’ is one of the two that I’d narrowed it down to! ‘Ruby Spider’ is the other one. The description on RS is it has a flat bloom. Mine doesn’t have that type of bloom, so I’m leaning more towards it being AR. Will let you know though!
      Jeanni

      • ~~Rhonda

        Jeanni, here’s our ‘Ruby Spider.’ It does have a flatter bloom. And it is a clearer red. Also a larger bloom.

        'Ruby Spider'

        I’m sure yours is ‘Autumn Red.’ A nice older variety. We appreciate its vigor. ~~Rhonda

  • Tootsie/ Glenda

    I don’t know what it is called..but I think it is beautiful! I don’t have many lilies…and the one I love didn’t bloom yet this season. Not sure it will!
    thanks for linking in this week. I am always in awe of all the different flowers everyone flaunts. It is a pleasure to tour and see all the gorgeous blooms…and I always enjoy stopping by here! I hope you will link in again soon!
    (¯`v´¯)
    `*.¸.*´Glenda/Tootsie
    ¸.•´¸.•*¨) ¸.•*¨)
    (¸.•´ (¸.•´ .•´ ¸¸.•¨¯`•.

Leave a Reply

